FlipSide was founded in 2013 by Liz Calder, Genevieve Christie, Louis Baum and John Christie. Initially FlipSide was an annual arts festival at Snape Maltings and in its inaugural year the festival welcomed writers from the UK and Brazil including Ian McEwan, Will Self, Milton Hatoum and Bernardo Carvalho.  Since then the festival has welcomed an array of wonderful writers from across the globe, including Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje, Ali Smith, Ana Maria Machado, David Hare, Jackie Kay and Benjamin Zephaniah, to name but a few. 

The festival has a strong musical element and has played host to Bebel Gilberto, Adriana Calcanhotto, Paula Morelembaum, Jose Miguel Wisnick, Mônica Vasconcelos and world DJ Gilles Peterson. The festival has also provided Brazilian music workshops in schools and a host of music and dance workshops take place at the festival.

In January 2015 FlipSide became a Registered Charity (1160164) and in 2016 we delivered a large scale project in Lowestoft to over 1200 school children featuring paralympians and a performance poet, and culminating in a visit from the Brazilian Ambassador; read more about that here. Also that year we began working in Great Yarmouth and delivered 'Brazilian Bandits' which brought the wonderful artist Ron King to GY for a residency in Skippings Gallery where he was able to talk to groups of school children. 

Our work in Lowestoft led to us producing a brand new arts festival for children and young people there during October half-term 2017.

FlipSide's outreach work has gone from strength to strength, we sit on the board of the Lowetsoft Cultural Education Partnership and the Great Yarmouth Cultural Eductaion Partnership, and we're part of a consortium of arts organisations working together to help regenerate Lowestoft's South Pier.

FlipSide is the sister festival of FLIP (Festa Literaria Internacional de Paraty), South America's first and largest international literary festival.  

Our aims are to produce the vibrant FlipSide Festivals and a growing calendar of schools and community literature, music and arts events, opening a window onto a world of new cultural experiences. 

Meet the Team

Liz Calder - Director

Liz CalderIn a career spanning four decades, Liz Calder entered publishing in the 1970s with Victor Gollancz, where she published John Irving and Angela Carter among others. She moved to Jonathan Cape, where she published Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children and Anita Brookner’s Hotel du Lac, both Booker winners. In 1986 she joined Nigel Newton, David Reynolds and Alan Wherry to found Bloomsbury. Here she was responsible for the fiction list, which included two more Booker winners, The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood and The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje.

Liz is president and founder of FLIP, and founding Director of the Groucho Club and the Orange Prize for Literature (now the Bailey’s Prize), for which she was a judge in 2010. Liz is also the founder and director of the East Anglian based publisher, Full Circle Editions who produce beautiful books, which have an East of England connection.




Genevieve Christie - Director

Genevieve Christie worked in television production for more than 20 years. Trained at the BBC, she worked at London Weekend Television as an associate producer on a raft of factual programmes including the Audience With.... series and the Baftas. Subsequently as a freelance producer/writer she formed her own independent production company Carey St Productions. In collaboration with John Christie she has commissioned many co-productions between UK and international broadcasters including Addicted to Death – The Harold Shipman Story, the long running series Tales from the Black Museum, The Great Nazi Cash Swindle and Discovery’s Queen Mary II – Birth of a Legend. Genevieve is also the founder and director of the East Anglian based publisher, Full Circle Editions who produce beautiful books, which have an East of England connection.




FlipSide Board Members

Hilary Battye (interim Chair)
Martin Battye
John Christie
Chris Edmonds
Cecily Engle
Dan Franklin
Clare Matterson CBE
Sean McTernan


Ana Maria Machado
Margaret Atwood
Michael Ondaatje